ISLS Logo Mast

About ISLS

Overview | Officers | Board of Directors | Committees | ISLS' CSCL Community
Society Governance and Organizing Documents | Creation of the Society


If you are interested in joining any of the ISLS Committees, please contact the chairs.

Chaired by William A. Sandoval (USA) sets policies for ICLS and CSCL conferences, selects future venues, and helps recruit and appoint conference chairs.

  • Nikol Rummel (Germany)
  • Nancy Law (Hong Kong, China)
  • Michael Jacobson (Australia)
  • Mitch Nathan (USA)
  • Susan Jurow (USA)

Co-chaired by Kris Lund (France) and Marcia Linn (USA) (Board Liaison), helps create and develop outreach and educational activities for the society. Additional members of this committee are:

  • Frank Fischer (Germany)
  • Vanessa Svila (USA)
  • Yael Kali (Isreal)
  • Dan Hickey (USA)
  • Nancy Law (Hong Kong, China)
  • Jim Pellegrino (USA)
  • Chris Quintana (USA)
  • Peter Reimann (USA)
  • Pierre Tchounikine (France)
  • Michelle Williams (USA)
  • Susan Yoon (USA)

Co-Chaired by Susan Yoon (USA) and Nancy Law, this committee helps disseminate the Society’s work and invites new members into the Society.

Additional members of this committee are:

  • Paul Kirschner (Netherlands)
  • Gerry Stahl (USA)
  • Heisawn Jeong (Korea)
  • Jianwei Zhang (USA)
  • Lung Hsiang Wong (Singapore)
  • Baohui Zhang (China)
  • Peter Reimann (Australia)
  • Therese LaFerriere (Canada)
  • Michael Jacobson (Australia)
  • Jum Oshima (Japan)
  • Tessy Cerratto Pargman (Sweden)
  • Fadoua Wamani (Tunisia), Graduate Student Member

Publications and Communication (ISLS Publications FAQ)
Chaired by Kim Gomez (USA), the Committee develops editorial and publications policies and helps direct the Society's communications decisions.

Additional members of this committee are:

  • Eleni A. Kyza (Cyprus)
  • Cindy Hmelo-Silver (USA)
  • Brian Reiser (USA)
  • Leilah Lyons (USA)
  • Susan McKenney (Netherlands)
  • Tamara Clegg (USA)
  • Cheryl Madeira (Canada)
  • Maritza Lozano (USA) - Graduate student member

The ISLS journal Editors are ex-officio members of the Publications and Communication Committee.

The Publications and Communication Committee is also responsible for the ISLS newsletter (editors Tamara Clegg, Cheryl Madeira, and Maritza Lozano

The Committee maintains the ISLS Publications FAQ. Please contact the chair of the Committee to obtain a copyright permission to use portions of your ISLS conference proceedings in other scholarly publications.

Chaired by Jim Slotta (Canada) the Technology Committee is a recent addition to the ISLS Committees. The Committee is charged with developing technology policies for the Society and providing recommendations to the Board regarding the development, evaluation and updating of the Society’s Strategic Technology Plan.

Additional members of this committee are:

  • Susan Goldman (USA)
  • Chris Quintana (USA)
  • Ravi Vatrapu (Denmark)
  • Mike Tissenbaum (USA)
  • Haklev Stian (Norway, Canada), Graduate Student Member

CSCL Community
Co-chaired by Nikol Rummel (Germany) and Carolyn Penstein Rose (USA), this committee works to strengthen the international CSCL community as part of ISLS, working with the ISLS board and the other committees on CSCL affairs, including the CSCL Conferences and the ijCSCL journal.




Copyright 2004 International Society of the Learning Sciences. All rights reserved.